F O C U S E D

Another daily prompt. I actually like these a lot. It gives me something to write about on days like today when my mind is completely blank.

My mind hasn’t been blank in a very long time. It feels pretty damn good to not be thinking about anything (right now). I’m just hanging out at work, listening to a lot of music I haven’t heard in a while. I’m just enjoying myself.

Today’s word of the day is focused, something I feel like I haven’t been in a long time. My mind is always wandering, I’m always thinking about things. To actually have a day where I feel like I can focus on the tasks ahead of me is really amazing. Maybe today will actually be a productive day after work.

Until then, I am stuck in this chair, being unproductive. It’s relatively slow at my job right now because they just hired a shit ton of people for the open enrollment period, so now there are double the people working on the same stuff. Its getting done really quick, so we end up having nothing to do for the rest of the day. Open enrollment will change that, but is still over a month away.

I try to keep myself occupied at work but its hard because they have so many restrictions on what you can and cant do. Honestly, I probably shouldn’t even be on WordPress, but no one has said anything yet so I will keep doing it. It’ll keep me busy, keep me sane, and help the day move along a little faster.

I started reading a series of novels by Ursula K. Le Guin after reading an article about her blog. The person who wrote the article had described her series called the Hainish Cycle, and it completely drew me in. I had to go on Amazon and buy it immediately. I read what I believe to be the first book in the series, but I’m still not entirely sure. It’s  called Rocannon’s World, and it was one of the best books I’ve read in a very long time. If you like science fiction, or just reading in general, I would highly recommend it. It has helped me in my down time at work, and I’m really looking forward to reading the rest and more by Le Guin.

I don’t think there is really anything else I want to talk about right now. I guess I just hope I can start feeling better physically now that my mental state is a little bit more stable than it has been this past week or so. Let me focus on that.

 

via Daily Prompt: Focused

Author: Michele

I am a 23 year old from Rochester, NY just trying to fight the monster in my head.

Leave a Reply

